Lemons 'n Lyme

When life gives you lemons, use them to beat Lyme

Coconut Muffins

1 Comment

Image

Yay! A new recipe, finally. I’m on day 3 of the 21 Day No Sugar Detox! So I made some coconut muffins to snack on, courtesy of the book by Balanced Bites. I switched it up a bit, of course :). I also doubled this recipe so you get 12 instead of just 6 muffins

Coconut Muffins:

6 eggs

1/2 cup almond milk, coconut milk, or water

1/2 cup coconut oil

1/2 cup Β coconut flour

4 tbs. sweet potato flour, if you don’t have this using more coconut flour will work fine

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tbs. Cinnamon (add more if like)

~1/2 tbs. Nutmeg (Add more if like)

1 heaping tbs. vanilla powder- this is vanilla extract in powder form. It tastes like powdered sugar but is amazing! πŸ™‚

Pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 375.

Whisk eggs then add the rest of the wet ingredients. Mix in the dry ingredients.

Grease muffin tins and fill 1/2 way. Bake for 15-20 minutes. Makes 12.

If not sugar detoxing, I’d advise using 1/4-1/2 cup applesauce instead of the extra egg whites or milk to add some more sweetness. These are not sweet… I drizzled coconut butter on top and really enjoyed them!

Image

ImageImage

Image

Author: Lemons 'n Lyme

So, my name is Victoria. I was recently diagnosed with chronic/long-term Lyme Disease. It has been one of the biggest reliefs of my life. I finally have an answer for all the pain I've been in for years. I'm 20. I love to bake and cook. I created this blog to 1) chronicle my recovery 2) share my recipes. My recipes are geared to those with Lyme in terms of nutrition and anti-inflammatory, etc. My research has shown that eating a paleo/gluten-free/low-carb diet is best for those with Lyme, and although I try to stick with this I fail horribly at times. Follow along and feel free to contact me! :)

One thought on “Coconut Muffins

  1. These look delicious!!! i will have to try.

    Like

Leave a Reply

