Lemons 'n Lyme

When life gives you lemons, use them to beat Lyme

Nut/Seed butter Paleo Banana Bread Cinnamon Bun Mufins

Leave a comment

Well obviously they will be paleo since that is what I post…. but I added it to the title anyway:). And yes, it is a super long title. Embrace it. Yesterday was spent baking and cooking with my roommate and these little gems were one of the wonderful things that emerged from our oven. My roommate is the master at letting bananas go bad. She used to just throw them away. I caught her one day and immediately yelled at her to throw the bad bananas in the freezer because I would use them to bake with. Over the past two weeks I have proceeded to collect a very large amount of frozen bananas for baking. Finally got around to making some banana bread:)

Ingredients:

6 eggs

1/2 cup almond butter or sunflower seed butter (or whatever butter you like…)

2 mashed bananas

1/3 cup melted coconut oil (you could also use coconut milk, I didn’t have any and was too lazy to go to the store, I know that these would be excellent if you used the thick part of the coconut milk)

1/4 cup applesauce

1/2 cup coconut flour

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1.5 tbs. vanilla powder or 1 tbs vanilla extract

1 tbs. cinnamon

Topping:

1/2 mashed banana

1 tbs. cinnamon

1 tsp. stevia (or sweetener of choice, could use agave or maple syrup or honey)

1 tbs. coconut oil (depending on how strong you want that flavor)

Preheat oven to 350.

Mix all the wet ingredients together. Mix the dry in a seperate bowl then add them to the wet and mix well.

Spoon into prepared muffin tin about 3/4 full.

Mix ingredients for the topping then spoon onto the tops of each muffin. Depending on how much topping you want, you can double that topping recipe to make more. I didn’t put a lot on top, but probably would double it in the future.

Bake in oven for 20-25 minutes until toothpick comes out clean. Enjoy!

Makes about 12 muffin

20120903-105205.jpg

20120903-105156.jpg

20120903-105212.jpg

Author: Lemons 'n Lyme

So, my name is Victoria. I was recently diagnosed with chronic/long-term Lyme Disease. It has been one of the biggest reliefs of my life. I finally have an answer for all the pain I've been in for years. I'm 20. I love to bake and cook. I created this blog to 1) chronicle my recovery 2) share my recipes. My recipes are geared to those with Lyme in terms of nutrition and anti-inflammatory, etc. My research has shown that eating a paleo/gluten-free/low-carb diet is best for those with Lyme, and although I try to stick with this I fail horribly at times. Follow along and feel free to contact me! :)

Leave a Reply

