health, Recipes

Mustard Roasted Cauliflower

I like vegetables. But I get bored with them. I always end up cooking them the same way, I’m not very creative when it comes to how to make them. And I tend to use the same ones all the time. Although I regularly eat cauliflower, this switched it up a bit for me.

I had bought a head of cauliflower this past weekend because I had intended on sticking some pork in the crockpot along with the cauliflower for the week. Well, change of plans, pork was not going to be on the agenda. Now I had this head of cauliflower sitting in my fridge. What was I to do with it before it went bad?

I love roasted vegetables, but wanted to do something different. I also wanted to do something more then the typical paleo cauliflower rice. I hate grating the darn thing! Let’s try some mustard, shall we?

This turned out really well and changed up my veggie routine.

Ingredients:

1 medium head of cauliflower

2 tbs. mustard (I use the brown spice mustard)

3 tbs. olive oil

1 tsp. cumin

1/2 tsp. salt (more if desired)

sprinkle of pepper (to your taste)

Optional: nutritional yeast

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

In a small bowl mix together all but the cauliflower (and nutritional yeast if using). Cut up your cauliflower and place in a large bowl. Pour the mustard mixture over the cauliflower and mix to cover cauliflower completely.

If using nutritional yeast, sprinkle it on at this point. I like using nutritional yeast to give an extra protein and nutritional boost. This can be helpful if you have Lyme or other illnesses as it helps get extra nutrients in if you have a hard time absorbing them. I have a rough time absorbing all the nutrients from my food, so this just helps give me more options to do so :). It makes things cheesy, too, without the dairy!

Spread cauliflower evenly over a large baking pan and place in the oven. After 15 minutes, stir/flip cauliflower and continue to cook for another 15 minutes. I advise checking your cauliflower regularly (maybe every 10 minutes or so?) as every oven is different and you don’t want to burn it! Cauliflower should be slightly browning on edges but not burned. It will taste done 🙂 (helpful, I know).

As you might be able to tell in my picture, I served it with some baked tilapia. (Drizzled olive oil and some salt and pepper over the tilapia then baked for 15 minutes in the 400 degree oven)

20120904-213153.jpg

20120904-213201.jpg

1 thought on “Mustard Roasted Cauliflower”

  1. This looks great. At first I thought it was chicken, but even better that it was cauliflower. I tend to get lazy with my veggies too and this is a nice change. Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

