Exercise, health

Exercise: The Other Piece of the Puzzle

I post recipes. Because, well, I like food. I like to try new recipes and I like to take recipes and make them paleo or allergy-friendly or sugar free. Food is good.

I rarely post about fitness despite the fact that I’m a Certified Personal Trainer and teach boot camp and spin classes. It will probably stay that way, with the occasional fitness post thrown in unless I get feedback about wanting more fitness talk.

But let’s talk about working out for a minute. Gosh, it can be a wonderful thing. Now, don’t get me wrong, if I could get away with sitting on the couch all day watching House Hunters and eating baked goods, chocolate, almond butter, and ice cream I would! Exercise, though, has helped me through some rough times and is an important part of any lifestyle, especially if you have a chronic illness.

I’m lucky enough to be at a point in my Lyme disease where I can get out of bed and get some workouts in every week. Last spring working out was out of the question. If I managed to stay standing on two feet for a full shower I was lucky! For many with Lyme working out is not in the picture due to exhaustion, pain, and other serious symptoms. But if you are at a point where you can handle some activity, it can actually make symptoms better.

I have to be VERY careful about overdoing it or I’m out for a week, in bed with flu-like symptoms. But, if I manage to get a healthy sweat session in, the endorphins help override the headaches and body aches and manage to give me a little more energy to get through my day.

I have a type A personality, which means I plan everything. I’m a major planner. I like to plan out my meals every week and plan my workouts. There is this awesome site called slimkicker.com where you can enter in your workouts and meals. But it goes beyond that making it pretty cool, especially if you are motivated by points and rewards (HELLO, I would NOT be doing as well in school as I am if it weren’t for being rewarded with grades and a high GPA). Basically you have a goal and you upload a picture of what you will reward yourself with upon reaching that goal (a pedicure, a new tool set, a new outfit, you get the idea). The site keeps track of points for you and reminds you when you’ve reached your goal so you can go out and get that awesome reward you chose for yourself!

I thought it was pretty neat and wanted to share it with you guys. I know there are some people out there who this could be very helpful for. Anyway, I promise more food posts in the future…. hopefully some cooking will get done this weekend. I’ve been feeling pretty crappy this week (I haven’t been able to sleep at all which as completely ruined my days for obvious reasons) so my energy to do much of anything, even eat, has plummeted. Don’t worry, I’ve managed to stuff some chocolate down my throat. God knows how I had to energy to lift my hand to my mouth, but chocolate has some magical powers ;).

4 thoughts on “Exercise: The Other Piece of the Puzzle”

Leave a Reply

