Recipes

Bacon Wrapped Cinnamon Sweet Potato Fries

Did you just die? Bacon Wrapped Cinnamon Sweet Potato Fries. Did you just die again?

I know. I just combined two of the most amazing foods in the world into one delicious meal and added the best spice. BAM! 2 important things to discuss.

The first, I mastered (okay I use mastered roughly here) double unders today! Double unders and kipping pull-ups have been my enemy in crossfit workouts. Especially double unders. I went in to the gym today to do a quick workout with one of the crossfit coaches/my friend before hunkering down for some serious studying (Exercise science test on Wednesday! ahh!). I haven’t done a crossfit workout in about 3 weeks because I usually go to my school gym in between classes and well, crossfit is not fun to do by yourself and people look at you funny when you do a WOD in the middle of a normal gym.

After the workout which consisted of 21-15-9 deadlifts, situps, burpees with 60 jump rope singles after each set, I attempted kipping pullups. I’m getting there! Then I tested out the double under and after some repeated butt whipping (it hurts so much when you miss and the rope hits you there!) I finally got my first double under! I can’t do them all in a row, but I can throw some in or do one then a few singles and a double then singles then another double. YAY!

AND number two…

Image

I had some sweet potatoes in the cupboard and I love sweet potato fries but wanted to switch it up. Wrapped in bacon? I think so. I wanted them for dinner but felt like I needed some greens in my life so I served them over pan roasted broccoli and zucchini, although they taste great alone or as dessert ;). They fill you up fast, I could only handle a few before gorging myself and feeling too sick… moral of the story, these are a treat, watch it and consume wisely.

Ingredients:

2 sweet potatoes

1 package of bacon (use a thinner cut variety)

Cinnamon

Olive oil or 1 tbs. melted coconut oil (I’d go for the melted coconut oil, I didn’t use that although I wish I would have)

Pinch or two of salt.

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

Peel and Cut your sweet potatoes into thin slices. Place in a giant bowl and pour the 1-2 tbs. of melted coconut oil over them (just barely enough to cover them) plus about two pinch’s of salt and as much cinnamon as you like.

Take your bacon slices and cut them into 2-3 strips (so from one strip of bacon you’ll get 2 or 3 skinnier strips). Take one fry at a time and wrap it in the bacon. Place on your baking sheet.

Bake for 30 minutes then turn on the broiler for about 5 minutes, until they look crispy.

Then die from deliciousness overload.

ImageImage

4 thoughts on “Bacon Wrapped Cinnamon Sweet Potato Fries”

  1. Did you hear about the guy trying to travel from NYC to LA using only bacon as his money? Shouldn’t be a problem! Great photos for this dish.

    Like

  2. I like this recipe Bacon wrapped around sweet potato fries. I like to cut up sweet potatoes into fries sprinkle about 2-3 tsp. of Mystique flavoring, add 1/4 to 1/2 cup olive oil and then bake them in my Ne-wave oven. Also have a recipe for Bacon raped green beans in butter and brown sugar. I like to cook and bake also. Like the recipes you have. Will be following your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

