Lemons 'n Lyme

When life gives you lemons, use them to beat Lyme

Onion, Mushroom, and Roasted Red Pepper Stuffed Burgers

Leave a comment

Image

Oh yeah, doesn’t that look good? You better say yes. Because that is the answer. Yes, YES, Victoria, it looks so yummy with all the deliciousness bursting out of the side of that burger… just can’t contain itself.

Sometimes I’m kinda genius. I wouldn’t necessarily say these are genius, but they come pretty close. My next post is actually genius. You’ll see. Just wait.

Image

Okay so on to the actual recipe…

Ingredients:

1 lbs. ground turkey (or whatever meat you want to use will work)

1 tbs. paprika

1 tsp. garlic salt

1 tsp. chili powder

1 tsp. red pepper flakes

pepper

1 small yellow onion, chopped (like strips but small ones)

~1 cup mushrooms chopped

2 roasted red peppers

1 tbs. balsamic vinegar

1 tbs. apple cider vinegar

olive oil

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Heat up oil in a skillet. Chop up your onions and add to the oil to start cookin’. Chop up your roasted red peppers and mushrooms then add to the skillet, too. Add your vinegars and let everything cook down until onions are translucent. Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.

While your veggies were cooking you should have been mixing your burger meat with all those spices I mentioned and forming 4 balls of equal size (unless you want unequally sized burgers… you know, so you can give that one family member who isn’t your favorite the small one. Haha, they lose out since YOU cooked dinner!)

Take one ball and flatten it out pretty flat (not super thin so it’s tearing, we’ll get there). Take a BIG scoop of your “stuffing” and plop it in the middle of your flat meat thing…….. Okay, anyway, yeah do that then fold up the edges (circles don’t have edges, I know) to meet in the middle on top of the stuffing blob. Take the ball in your hand to kinda close everything up so basically you have this ball of meat with good stuff inside of it. This gets messy and sometimes the meat tears, just do your best!

Place the ball on a baking sheet and flatten a bit so it looks more like a burger. Repeat with the rest of your meat balls (haha). Bake in oven for 10-15 minutes, or until meat is done (DON’T overcook… will be dry and gross).

Take out and stuff your face with these stuffed burgers! Oh, I served some garlic sauted kale with them- excellent choice on my part. And/or sweet potato fries:).

Image

cutting that bad boy open…. good stuff!

Image

look at all that yumminess pouring out!

Enjoy šŸ™‚

Author: Lemons 'n Lyme

So, my name is Victoria. I was recently diagnosed with chronic/long-term Lyme Disease. It has been one of the biggest reliefs of my life. I finally have an answer for all the pain I've been in for years. I'm 20. I love to bake and cook. I created this blog to 1) chronicle my recovery 2) share my recipes. My recipes are geared to those with Lyme in terms of nutrition and anti-inflammatory, etc. My research has shown that eating a paleo/gluten-free/low-carb diet is best for those with Lyme, and although I try to stick with this I fail horribly at times. Follow along and feel free to contact me! :)

Leave a Reply

