Lemons 'n Lyme

When life gives you lemons, use them to beat Lyme

Done: Hello Winter Break

3 Comments

The past couple weeks have been pretty crazy. Crazy stressful, that is. I’m finally done with finals and I have made it home safe and sound! I finished off my finals yesterday morning, although my semester didn’t go as nicely as I had hoped. But that’s okay, I’m under the impression I didn’t fail any classes (although my usually straight A’s aren’t exactly on the agenda, either).

I have been waiting for this day to arrive. To be done with this semester. And now that it’s here? Well I’m kind of sad this semester is over. I almost want to cry. It’s weird. The past 6 months, no past year really, have been a whirlwind of both good and bad. The past year of being sick has been one of the worst ever. Dealing with Lyme Disease has been awful and sucky and miserable and all around not fair. Having to manage the ups and downs and medications and symptoms and whatnot has been more then I feel I can handle at many times.

BUT, I’ve also had one of the best years of my life. Weird. I know. I’ve met some of the most amazing people, realized how true and caring my friends are, and had some really fun times. I’ve dealt with a hell of a lot of stress this past year (not just from Lyme) and even though I can’t say I’m fully recovered from stress trauma and worked out a lot of my feelings, I can say I have some amazing people in my life to help me through it or take my mind off of it.

Dealing with Lyme makes every minor thing in life that much more stressful. Small decisions and situations become a huge deal, planning is so frustratingly impossible at times- will I feel good then? will i feel like i’m dying? can i commit to that or should i just bail now because i don’t know how i’ll be feeling? IT IS SO FREAKING ANNOYING. And although there are a lot of people in my life who don’t understand Lyme for the life of them, I have a few special ones who do and they understand this issue and that I might call them up telling them I can’t do what was originally planned. They usually are willing to drop those plans to come over and watch movies instead.

I was able to finish off my semester with a little bit of a bang though. I was feeling surprisingly well towards the end of this week (perhaps the adrenal is still high from no more school for 5 weeks? ๐Ÿ™‚ ). So my best friend at school and I decided to go out to celebrate being done with finals. We went downtown to hit up a few bars. The first one sucked so we went to my favorite bar, which my friend works at (AKA FREE drinks) and has an awesome dance floor. We spent the remainder of the night there and it was a blast! I’m honestly sad to be home right now because so many of my friends are in Colorado. But it’s good to be home and I’m excited to catch up with all my friends here.

I don’t have any new recipes for you. My mom and I will be doing some baking this week so hopefully I’ll have some for you. Thanks for sticking through my rants the past couple of posts.

Author: Lemons 'n Lyme

So, my name is Victoria. I was recently diagnosed with chronic/long-term Lyme Disease. It has been one of the biggest reliefs of my life. I finally have an answer for all the pain I've been in for years. I'm 20. I love to bake and cook. I created this blog to 1) chronicle my recovery 2) share my recipes. My recipes are geared to those with Lyme in terms of nutrition and anti-inflammatory, etc. My research has shown that eating a paleo/gluten-free/low-carb diet is best for those with Lyme, and although I try to stick with this I fail horribly at times. Follow along and feel free to contact me! :)

3 thoughts on “Done: Hello Winter Break

  1. Nice to see you are still around Lemons. I liked your post. You said some positive things. That is what will keep your spirits up.

    You know when you go out to eat or to a friend’s house for dinner; and your handed a plate, a dinner plate, how much do you put on it? You fell it to the rim, so that it over flows and spills to the floor?

    Your life is that PLATE. Only put on it what you can digest at that time without over whelming yourself. Just as you would give yourself a tummy ache for stuffing to much food on your dinner plate, so would be true of putting to much on yourself at one time.

    I know you know all this Lemon’s…your young…you have a lot to do, that you want to do. You have time, life is short enough without worrying all the time.

    Go cook something with your mom. We’er all waiting to see what you come up with this week. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Love you and can’t wait to see you! โค

    Like

Leave a Reply

