Lemons 'n Lyme

When life gives you lemons, use them to beat Lyme

Blueberry Coconut Bars/Blondies

Leave a comment

First of all, today was a great day for two reasons.

1. The RAVENS WON THE SUPER BOWL!

2. I got to talk to my best friend who is currently doing semester at sea- she was in China while we skyped 🙂

I have so many posts I want to make! Personal plus a bunch of recipes coming up this week- yay! I was very successful in the kitchen this morning when I realized the game wasn’t on until 4:30 pm (thought it came on at 2:30)… what better way to waste time until football then to cook and bake?!

My Saturday was also great. I went on a wonderful hike with 3 friends, 2 of which I hadn’t seen in forever! It was great to catch up with them. It was in the 50’s so it wasn’t too hot and that made the hike very pleasant. I felt good despite having felt close to death the past 2 weeks. I’m still having some pretty bad symptoms so I’m going to be calling my doctor Monday to see if we can get that headed in the right direction.

On to the recipe….

Image

Ingredients:

1/2 cup coconut flour

1/4 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

4 eggs

1//4 cup coconut oil

1/4 cup applesauce

1/2 cup coconut cream (the top of the coconut milk can)

1/4 cup honey

1/2-1 cup blueberries (depending on how much you want)

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Mix all the wet ingredients together in a bowl. Add in the dry ingredients, except blueberries. Stir everything together until well mixed, then fold in the blueberries.

Pour batter into a greased baking dish (maybe a 8×8? or you can use something longer… not a bread dish but so that it flattens out, ya know? I know, I suck because I don’t have measurements I just pick pans based on whether I think they will work and then pray for the best).

Bake for 20 minutes, or until just beginning to brown on top and toothpick comes out clean. Wait until completely cooled to cut and devour.

Image

Author: Lemons 'n Lyme

So, my name is Victoria. I was recently diagnosed with chronic/long-term Lyme Disease. It has been one of the biggest reliefs of my life. I finally have an answer for all the pain I've been in for years. I'm 20. I love to bake and cook. I created this blog to 1) chronicle my recovery 2) share my recipes. My recipes are geared to those with Lyme in terms of nutrition and anti-inflammatory, etc. My research has shown that eating a paleo/gluten-free/low-carb diet is best for those with Lyme, and although I try to stick with this I fail horribly at times. Follow along and feel free to contact me! :)

Leave a Reply

