Lemons 'n Lyme

When life gives you lemons, use them to beat Lyme

Fast Paleo Book + Egg Bake

5 Comments

So first of all, I’ve mentioned this site a few times on my blog: fastpaleo.com

People upload paleo recipes they have made and it is basically a recipe sharing site. I love it and use it all the time. I also post some of my recipes on to it. Well, they put together a book of 100 of the recipes from 2012. AND GUESS WHAT? 2 OF MY RECIPES MADE IT! NOT ONE BUT TWOOOOO! yay:) So you all should go buy it and support me:).

Here is the link in case you are interested:Ā http://www.fastpaleotop100.com/Ā 

Now go do it.

Okay, food.

Ahh this recipe is a great brunch recipe if you are having company over. It’s a one dish egg bake that includes everything you need for the meal! Just top with avocado upon serving and you have perfection.

Image

Serves 5 (so you can adjust the egg amount if you want to make a smaller or larger serving)

Ingredients:

10 eggs

1/2-1 cup egg whites (depending on how hungry you think people will be or how much protein you want)

5-7 pieces of bacon (I used turkey because I prefer that)

4 big handfuls of spinach (yes, a handful is a measurement!) roughly chopped (take the handful and chop it 3-4 times that’s it)

1 yellow onion, chopped

salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 375 F.

First, heat up a skillet and cook up your bacon. Take your bacon off and add your onion to the skillet (using the fat from the bacon to cook it in- flavor people!). Once the onions start to become translucent and almost soft, add in the spinach to wilt it down.

While all that was cooking, you should have been whisking your eggs and egg whites together.

Chop up your bacon into small pieces, add the bacon and veggies into the eggs and whisk it all together.

Grease a glass loaf pan and pour your mixture in. Surprisingly, the bacon and veggies rose to the top…. I totally expected them all to sink to the bottom. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until cooked through (you can tell pretty easily, it will be set. Or poke it with a knife and see if the inside is still uncooked).

Once done, cut into the individual servings and top with some avocado to get your healthy fats in and round out the meal!

Image

Image

Author: Lemons 'n Lyme

So, my name is Victoria. I was recently diagnosed with chronic/long-term Lyme Disease. It has been one of the biggest reliefs of my life. I finally have an answer for all the pain I've been in for years. I'm 20. I love to bake and cook. I created this blog to 1) chronicle my recovery 2) share my recipes. My recipes are geared to those with Lyme in terms of nutrition and anti-inflammatory, etc. My research has shown that eating a paleo/gluten-free/low-carb diet is best for those with Lyme, and although I try to stick with this I fail horribly at times. Follow along and feel free to contact me! :)

5 thoughts on “Fast Paleo Book + Egg Bake

  1. Congratulations on two of your recipes being included. That is very exciting and well deserved!

    Like

  2. Hey Lemons,

    How are you doing? Hadn’t received any new post from you in awhile. I was looking through my comments and found a conversation we had awhile ago. So clicked over to see what you have been doing. Your recent recipes look great.

    Here’s one I did recently about eggs: http://savorthefood.wordpress.com/2013/02/07/make-protein-and-breakfast-your-best-friend/ . Also have a post in 2 parts about what makes it possible for us to cook and bake. Eggs are also included in there.

    Also I am glad for you having made two of your recipes into fastpaleo.com. I am going to click over and see about buying the cookbook. See Lemons, even though we suffer with problems in live, disease and illness included..there is always something that comes back to make it all worth while.

    Your reply to Compostings comment there above you used the word Motivation. See Lemons..we all suffer in this life..but something always keeps us going. Something seems to motivate us. Maybe if you keep going you can have a cookbook all of your own, dedicated to people with Lyme’s. Talk about your trials and pains and experiences and what helps you through it…and recipes to help it be a little better. A Lyme’s cookbook by Victoria. šŸ™‚

    My wife’s sister just died last week from a 8 year battle with cancer. But she never said nothing, there was always something she found to keep going. In her last days when the doctor asked her about her pain. She said I am fine. He said from 1 to 10, she replied it’s 8. She never said nothing.

    Your in pain Victoria..but your still young. There is plenty out there to motivate you to want to live, even with the pain.

    If your recipes made it into fastpaleo.com then don’t give up cooking/baking…you must be good at it, to get the recipes into a cookbook.

    Keep it up Lemons, your doing fine. šŸ™‚

    Thanks for sharing your blog with US.

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

    Like

    • Hi! Good to hear from you, thank you for your nice comment. Your egg breakfast looked yummy- good facts about their nutritional value! I’m trying to push through, but sometimes it’s hard- I guess we just have to keep pushing though, right? šŸ™‚

      Like

      • Nice to hear from you Lemons.

        Just remember, Lemons are always sour(not saying you are)..and we go yak at their taste …but add a little sugar or some ginger or even mint and their so delicious.

        That’s life, its sour…just find something good that you enjoy so it’s delicious or worth living!!
        Thanks for replying Lemons.

        Regards,
        Randall

        Like

Leave a Reply

