Lemons 'n Lyme

When life gives you lemons, use them to beat Lyme

Fears

7 Comments

This week has sucked. Today, I feel like death. Actual death. Everything hurts from my head to my toes. My intestines feel like a giant moving warm that is on fire. I’ve been exhausted yet I can’t sleep. I can’t conentrate at all (which isn’t helping considering I had two quizzes today… yeah, didn’t study for those!). Not that this is anything new- WOOHOO LYME DISEASE! efff that.

To add to the normal stress of life/school/Lyme, I’m starting to think about post graduation, which is in one year. WHAT THE HELL AM I GOING TO DO?!

I THOUGHT I wanted to go to physical therapy school. But I don’t actually know if that is ultimately what I want to do. I thought I wanted to take a year off before going to grad school, but I have NO idea what I would do with that year (I don’t want a lame job). And if I am going to go to grad school, I need to apply this summer (that is if I’m not taking the year off).

There are a million things I’d rather do then go to grad school. I know what I want to be able to do with my life, it just doesn’t line up with what is actually plausible to do with my life. All of them require me to have money to start them, thus grad school get a bomb job and make money then do that. But the grad school thing is what is killing me here.

I’m scared of the future because I’m scared of working and having Lyme. No one will hire you if you say “oh I’m great candidate and can do all of this but I have this disease where I may not be able to come into work every couple days or be out for a week.” How the hell am I supposed to work full time with this?! How the hell am I supposed to support myself if I can’t work full time or if I’m sick?! How am I even supposed to do life in general with Lyme?! I haven’t even figured that last part out yet… how can I take on a full time job? At least with school I can ditch classes when I need to and make up the work later or get notes from friends.

YOU CAN’T DO THAT WITH A JOB! 

There is always so much I want to do but I’m scared to do it because I don’t know how I’m gonna feel. I hate planning anything because I hate having to be the one who bails. Nobody, except maybe 2-3 of my best friends understand this concept and are totally cool if I need to bail on plans. They get it. I love them. To death. I know I’ve written about this before.

I haven’t taken my antibiotics today. Or yesterday. And I don’t plan on taking them tonight. I get mad at them. I’m tired of taking them. 

I get tired of cooking for myself. I love it but it’s exhausting. I lived off rice and sunflower seed butter, and larabars, and some other junk this week. My appetite was…. off. Nothing sounded good yet I was hungry. Then I wasn’t hungry but I kept eating. I had no energy to cook nor did anything I had to cook sound appealing. All I wanted was pizza and tostitos chips and quesidilla’s (sp?). Salttttt! All I want is salty salty salty and some chocolate on the side. So if any of you would like to come make me some food and do my homework that would be much appreciated.  

Author: Lemons 'n Lyme

So, my name is Victoria. I was recently diagnosed with chronic/long-term Lyme Disease. It has been one of the biggest reliefs of my life. I finally have an answer for all the pain I've been in for years. I'm 20. I love to bake and cook. I created this blog to 1) chronicle my recovery 2) share my recipes. My recipes are geared to those with Lyme in terms of nutrition and anti-inflammatory, etc. My research has shown that eating a paleo/gluten-free/low-carb diet is best for those with Lyme, and although I try to stick with this I fail horribly at times. Follow along and feel free to contact me! :)

7 thoughts on “Fears

  1. Must be something in the air. Though not as sick as you, I have been feeling the same way the last few days. F.U Lyme!. With my monthly symptom flare up after 13 months on antibiotics I’m scared I will always have Lyme. I’m mad I can’t eat anything, especially when I go out with friends or my family and watch other people have wine, a nice piece of bread and anything they want on the menu. Finally consoled myself with some fresh coconut and fresh pineapple – wish I could send some to you. Let’s keep our chins up and keep marching forward . . . have to believe it will get better.

    Like

  2. Man, that sounds really tough! Keep your head up lady. I don’t have any quality advice, I have no idea what i want to do with my life either at this point. I’m lucky that I have a fairly good job right now and don’t need to worry about it too much. I’m hoping something will click one day and I will know what I want to do. Not sure if that will really happen though. I wish you the best luck! you will find SOMETHING that suits your needs.

    Like

  3. Thank you for being so open and honest with your story. It certainly must be tough dealing with all of that stress at once. I wish you the best of luck.. and just remember to take one day at a time. It is so easy to get overwhelmed thinking about the future and trying to come up with answers to questions that you’ll never know. So in the meantime, make the most of the adventure and enjoy the ride along the way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

