health, Recipes

Vegetable Spaghetti and Meatballs Part 2 (Plus an Easy Sauce Recipe!)

Before I begin my day of studying (ugh!), I figured I’d post part 2.

Yesterday (Saturday) was awful! Friday night I didn’t fall asleep until 5 am! I was so tired and got in bed around 10 (maybe a little later since I was watching Friends with the roomie) and then proceeded to NOT sleep until 5 am. Then had to wake up at 7:30 for work. I felt like i was actually dying.

I came home and slept until about 2:30 when my friend called to chat. Then I called my mother to complain about all of it, since I have 3 exams this week I was supposed to spend the day studying, not sleeping! I finally managed to get some food (and thus some energy) into me and studied for a few hours (not that I remember anything today….) before heading to a friends house to watch tv and proceed to do more of nothing. Fell asleep at about 11 last night for a good 11 hours of sleep:).

I have a phone consult with my LLMD on Wednesday which I am ecstatic for since I’ve been having some pretty bad symptoms lately. I have been on some of my antibiotics for the last 6-8 months and I honestly feel like she needs to switch up my treatment plan. I mean, I could be becoming immune to some of the antibiotics…. right?! I just want less pills, new pills, and to feel better! Duh.

Okay recipe….

Part 2 is all about the meatballs! These are really earthy tasting and I like them.

Ingredients:

1 lbs. ground turkey

1 egg

2 tbsp. coconut flour

1/2 onion diced

1/2 package of frozen spinach (I buy those rectangular small boxes and I used half, if you want them extra spinach-y then go ahead and use the whole thing)

Olive oil

Salt and pepper

2 tbs. of some sort of zesty seasoning blend (you can find it in the spice aisle- ya know, one of those pre-made mixed up spices)

-If you don’t have this or want to buy it then mix up: ground black pepper, chili pepper, oregono, basil, rosemary, cumin, garlic, salt in a bowl and use 2 tbs. of the mix.

Preheat oven to 375 F.

First, take out your spinach and start to let it defrost. Next, sauté your onion in olive oil until becoming soft then add in your spinach to heat it up a bit (not so frozen and cold!). Season veggies with salt and pepper.

Beat your egg and mix it in with the meat and coconut flour and spices. Next, add all your veggies and mix everything together well.

There is a couple ways to cook them: I have a mini muffin tray so I put one meatball in each “muffin” holder, you could also do this with a big muffin tray… each meatball would have a lot of space to itself. Might enjoy the room. Or you can just line them up on a cookie sheet.

Make sure whatever you used is oiled so they don’t stick!

Bake for about 20 minutes or until cooked through. Let cool. Take some vegetable spaghetti add a few meatballs and top with some garlic tomato sauce!

You can easily make garlic spaghetti sauce (leave out garlic if not wanted):

Chop up 4 cloves of garlic and saute in olive oil until becoming fragrant (don’t burn!).

Add in 1 big chopped tomato plus 1/2-3/4 can tomato paste and 1/3 cup olive oil and 1/4 cup water. Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.

Mix everything in your saute pan and add more olive oil or water if it seems to thick form the tomato paste. Simmer down for about 7-10 minutes until everything is heated and desired consistency is reached.

Top your spaghetti and meatballs and you are good to go!

Image

Leave a Reply

