Recipes

Gluten Free Banana Bread Granola: Sugar Free and Nut Free

Image

Yes, I realize this isn’t fully paleo but I’ve been craving granola and I don’t like those all nut paleo granolas (I try to limit my nut consumption because I notice it messes with my digestive system and skin). Like I said, I’ve just been wanting a bowl of granola for breakfast for the past week or two so finally I decided to make me some! This granola has absolutely no added sugar or sweetener (besides all natural fruit!) of any kind- how fantastic?! It uses seeds, oats, buckwheat, and other goodies.

Fun Fact: Did you know buckwheat is a fruit not a grain? It is called an achene. (Hmm… does that make buckwheat paleo? Input anyone?)

Image

Ingredients:

1 cup certified gluten-free oats

1/2 cup flax seeds

1/2 cup buckwheat

1/2 cup sunflower seeds

1/2 cup pumpkin seeds

1 cup shredded, unsweetened coconut

1 cup fruit juice sweetened dried cranberries (I get them in bulk at Whole Foods)

1 cup applesauce (room temp. or warmer)

2 ripe bananas (feel free to leave this out if you don’t want banana flavor in your granola… you can always top your granola with banana slices like in the picture to add a little sweetness if desired)

1/3 cup coconut oil (melted)

Preheat oven to 325 F.

Mix all dry ingredients together in a large bowl, EXCEPT for the cranberries. In a separate bowl, mash bananas and mix all wet ingredients in. Add in wet ingredients to dry and mix thoroughly. Spread granola out on a greased cookie sheet.

Place in oven for 45-60 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes, until golden brown and it has reached your desired crunchiness. Once it is done, let cool then stir in the cranberries.

Image

Eat covered in nice cold milk while sitting in the morning sunshine :).

My weekend was pretty uneventful… actually it wasn’t that bad. I had a much needed girls night on Friday night- we watched movies, baked gluten free chocolate chip cookies (yes I indulged and it was heavenly), did face masks, painted nails, watched youtube videos, and gossiped. Perfection. I’m such a girl sometimes.

I had Saturday off from work so I was epicly lazy… my friend, her boyfriend, and I did earwax candles though. I’m not so sure it did all that much…

Sunday my friend from Friday night came over and we curled up on my couch with my comforter and studied for a few hours as the snow came down hard outside. Once we were too antsy to study anymore we went to the park and played in the snow!

Image

Her friend came with his two dogs, which was a blast. And we built a face down snow person with an anatomically correct back and butt (we are all Sports Medicine majors and obsessed with Anatomy). Then I proceeded to not do anymore studying. I made an awesome stew though, recipe to come soon! And now I am continuing the trend of not doing homework….

3 thoughts on “Gluten Free Banana Bread Granola: Sugar Free and Nut Free”

  1. Looks great Victoria. Here’s a link I wish you would check out, only take about less than 5 minutes of your time. It might give you a little encouragement.

    Here’s the link: http://bowtalks.wordpress.com/2013/02/26/dont-be-scared/comment-page-1/#comment-145 .

    Nice to see you smiling with your friend’s. Don’t get behind on school work. My son did last semester and he failed algebra.Take care Lemons. Keep blogging.

    Looking forward to your Stew recipe!! 🙂

    Randall

    Like

Leave a Reply

