Lemons 'n Lyme

When life gives you lemons, use them to beat Lyme

2 Comments

Although my blog is about Lyme Disease, food, and sometimes some fitness, I HAD to post this. This is an excellent post and the Steubenville rape case was an absolutely disgusting event that showed just how sexist our society still is, how despicable the media is, and how we have our priorities ass-backwards.

Rethink the Rant

TRIGGER WARNING:

The following includes descriptions, photos, and video that may serve as a trigger for victims of sexual violence.
Please be advised. 

Someone asked me today, “What is ‘rape culture’ anyway? I’m tired of hearing about it.”

Yeah, I hear ya. I’m tired of talking about it. But I’m going to keep talking about it because people like you keep asking that question.

Rape culture is when a group of athletes rape a young girl, and though there are dozens of witnesses, no one says, “Stop.”

Rape culture is when a group of athletes rape a young girl, and though there are dozens of witnesses, they can’t get anyone to come forward.

Rape culture is when a group of athletes rape a young girl, and adults are informed of it, but no consequences are doled out because the boys “said nothing happened.”

Rape culture is when a group…

View original post 1,115 more words

Author: Lemons 'n Lyme

So, my name is Victoria. I was recently diagnosed with chronic/long-term Lyme Disease. It has been one of the biggest reliefs of my life. I finally have an answer for all the pain I've been in for years. I'm 20. I love to bake and cook. I created this blog to 1) chronicle my recovery 2) share my recipes. My recipes are geared to those with Lyme in terms of nutrition and anti-inflammatory, etc. My research has shown that eating a paleo/gluten-free/low-carb diet is best for those with Lyme, and although I try to stick with this I fail horribly at times. Follow along and feel free to contact me! :)

2 thoughts on “

  1. All women must absolutely be outraged and take actions, large and small, to keep fighting these notions. We read about it in India or Pakistan and think it barbaric, but it happens here too. Young women are especially exploited–in ads, TV, movies, and job opportunities. Read Lean In by Sheryl Sandburg of Google. One of the most powerful women in the world, but earlier in her career when she was pregnant, the male programmers called a project she was in charge of the Whale Project to demean her. Make your views known. Share posts like this. Become active advocates. Oh, and have I mentioned that if you sit by and do nothing, your right to control your own body, including ending an unwanted pregnancy that might be caused by a situation like Stuebenville, is in grave danger! Vote. Run For Office. Be engaged. Be outraged.

    Like

  2. I just read an excerpt from her book and hopefully will read it over the summer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

