health, Recipes

Crock Pot Chicken Tikka Masala

I’ve been pretty sick this past week, with what started out as feeling like bronchitis or strep throat. The health center nixed those for me so I’m assuming it is a REALLY REALLY bad cold. I cant barely hear, my ears are so stuffed up! I’m just exhausted. I can’t tell if it is the Lyme, a herx reaction, a cold, or a combo of all of that. My plan is to rest all weekend and hope I’m better by Monday.

So food… since that is more interesting

Image

This recipe was inspired by this recipe. When I did some research about Chicken Tikka Masala I found out that there are a lot of different recipes out there and the only thing they have in common is the chicken. The spice combination ranges so here is my version!

Ingredients:

2 lbs. chicken breast

3 large garlic cloves, chopped

1-2 tbs. olive oil

1 cup canned coconut milk

1 16 oz. can crushed tomatoes

1/4 cup. coconut aminos

1 large onion, sliced

1 tbs. cumin

1 tbs. paprkia

1 tsp. chili flakes

1/2 tsp. chili powder

1 tsp. salt

Heat the olive oil over medium heat, add the chopped garlic and saute. Add the coconut milk, tomatoes, and spices. Heat over medium heat, when starts to bubble turn to a simmer while you prep the chicken.

Chop the gross parts off the chicken. Place your chicken breasts in the crock pot. Place the sliced onion over the  chicken then pour the sauce over the chicken. Cook on low for 3-4 hours.

Image

Image

Serve over cauliflower rice. I sauted up some kale for some greens, chopped it up and added it to the rice then served the chicken over that. Another night I cooked up some broccoli and kale and served it right over that… just as delicious :).

Image

6 thoughts on “Crock Pot Chicken Tikka Masala”

  1. I hope you feel better soon! I got a cold for the first time in years recently…. It went away, but came back. Very sore throat and coughing. Blech…. I love this recipe! Coconut milk is one of my favorite ingredients. My new favorite is coconut milk with chia seeds, cinnamon and a touch of stevia… Leave in fridge for a few hours and you get the healthiest tastiest pudding!

    Like

Leave a Reply

