Lemons 'n Lyme

When life gives you lemons, use them to beat Lyme

EDIT TO PALEO CRACKERS!

2 Comments

I made a mistake in my original Garlicky Paleo Crackers recipe! I wrote down the measurements wrong to two of the main ingredients. Don’t judge me too harshly for that mistake (I’ll blame my Lyme brain). I’ve edited it the original recipe but I’ll repost it here, too.

Ingredients:

1/4 cup coconut flour

1/2 cup ground flaxseeds/flaxseed meal

1/4 tsp. onion powder

1/2 teaspoon garlic salt (add more if want stronger garlic flavor)

a few shakes of the pepper shaker

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 egg

1/4 cup melted coconut oil

1/2 cup boiling water

Preheat oven to 375 F.

Mix all the dry ingredients together in a bowl. Add the egg and beat in. Add the melted coocnut oil and mix. Start slowly pouring in the hot water a little at a time, mixing it in thoroughly until you have a good dough. A good consistency for the dough is when it isn’t too dry that it is crumbly but holds together and is slightly sticky. You don’t want it to be too wet.

Take a 13X9 inch baking dish and spray with nonstick spray (or cover with butter, whatever you want to use as your nonstick). Place your dough into the dish and press out thin to all the edges. Be gentle but press your dough so that it covers the bottom of the whole dish. Cut your crackers into the shapes you desire (squares, long rectangles, dinosaurs, whatever you want!). Another option is to roll the dough out between two pieces of parchment paper and then peel the top layer off and place the bottom one with the dough onto a baking sheet.

Bake for 20-25 minutes until golden brown and crispy. Let cool completely before eating then eat plain, with avocado and tomato slices, with cheese, or whatever you happen to fancy eating your crackers with.

Image

Β 

Sorry about that! If you want the original post and pictures then you can go here.

Author: Lemons 'n Lyme

So, my name is Victoria. I was recently diagnosed with chronic/long-term Lyme Disease. It has been one of the biggest reliefs of my life. I finally have an answer for all the pain I've been in for years. I'm 20. I love to bake and cook. I created this blog to 1) chronicle my recovery 2) share my recipes. My recipes are geared to those with Lyme in terms of nutrition and anti-inflammatory, etc. My research has shown that eating a paleo/gluten-free/low-carb diet is best for those with Lyme, and although I try to stick with this I fail horribly at times. Follow along and feel free to contact me! :)

2 thoughts on “EDIT TO PALEO CRACKERS!

  1. I made the “old version” last night and thought they were quite good! I’ll have to try this fixed one and compare πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I’ve actually made both, as well. The old version is still good but I found when switching the measurements it makes them more crunchy and buttery tasting and less… Chalky (sometimes when you can taste the coconut flour too much I don’t like it or the consistency). If you try this version too is love to hear what you think!

      Like

Leave a Reply

