Lemons 'n Lyme

When life gives you lemons, use them to beat Lyme

Raw Hemp-Pumpkin Seed and Spinach “Pesto” (Paleo, Vegan, Nut-Free)

Leave a comment

So I posted a picture of this on my Instagram in January… promising the recipe soon. Oops, my bad. But I’m finally getting to it:). This is a wonderful “pesto” or sauce-type to cover raw zucchini noodles in (or on top of chicken or fish or anything else you may want to smother in it 🙂 ). Honestly, whole foods taste AMAZING! Yeah, occasionally I get bored of kale and spinach (that’s when I make some sweet potato fries) but I’ve loved having to be creative and come up with unique and interesting recipes. I draw my ideas from other blogs and raw foodists… but it is still fun to try out their recipes, tweak things, and make them my own. I LOVE THIS RECIPE! I literally lick the plate clean after eating anything covered in this pesto. I also tend to eat it by the spoonfuls…. yeah, it is that good.

Image

 

Pumpkin seeds are great because they contain high amounts of manganese (along with other minerals), plant based healthy fats, they help promote sleep but have protein for good energy, and they may help with arthritic pain (although my knees and hands still hurt…).

Hemp seeds have been my latest addiction. I literally eat them all day long (sprinkled in my smoothie, mixed into my homemade “hummus,” sprinkled over apples for an after dinner treat). Hemp seeds are a great source of plant based protein (which is why I eat them so much… to make sure I’m getting enough protein. I crash really fast if my protein levels aren’t high enough). Hemp seeds, like pumpkin seeds, contain a high amount of minerals and healthy omega-fatty acids. They also help with digestion as they contain a good amount of fiber.

Image

Raw Hemp-Pumpkin Seed and Spinach “Pesto”

Ingredients:

1/2 cup pumpkin seeds

1/2 cup hemp seeds

1/4 cup olive oil

4 big handfuls of spinach

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4-1/2 cup water

Optional: 1 big handful/1 cup of basil leaves (I didn’t use them the first time I made this recipe but had a few leftover this past week and threw them in… it is delicious both ways!)

Put all ingredients into your food processor, except the water. Pulse until combined and smooth. Add in 1/4 cup of water to start and blend. Continue to add water until you reach a desired consistency (you are going for a creamy, dressing pesto consistency. You don’t want something too chunky that is more like a spread, you want a sauce).

Image

TA-DA. Pour over your pasta or food of choice and consume :). ENJOY!

Image

 

Image

 

This past week I served it over kelp and zucchini noodles topped with sprouts, radishes, and hidden-liver meatballs (in case you don’t follow my IG- I’ve been trying to consume some liver in effort to get more B12 and at the recommendation of my ND).

Go make this now, for your own sake, please.

Author: Lemons 'n Lyme

So, my name is Victoria. I was recently diagnosed with chronic/long-term Lyme Disease. It has been one of the biggest reliefs of my life. I finally have an answer for all the pain I've been in for years. I'm 20. I love to bake and cook. I created this blog to 1) chronicle my recovery 2) share my recipes. My recipes are geared to those with Lyme in terms of nutrition and anti-inflammatory, etc. My research has shown that eating a paleo/gluten-free/low-carb diet is best for those with Lyme, and although I try to stick with this I fail horribly at times. Follow along and feel free to contact me! :)

Leave a Reply

