Uncategorized

Lyme Whisperer

I wanted to take a moment to share a book written by Joy over at Lyme Whisperer. It’s a book of humor and hope (as she puts it) about Lyme disease. Below is a short excerpt from Chapter 1, but head on over to her site and check it out!

“The evening began with my coworkers and me sitting at the Indigo Hotel’s poolside cabana in Boston’s sweltering, humid one-hundred-degree heat. We sat, joking and laughing while sweat dripped down our faces. I mean, really, what better medicine is there than being distracted from your antics for a bit with sliders, tuna tartar, and great company, Borrelia?

As I noshed on the appetizers and sipped my cosmopolitan, my thoughts went to Barry Manilow and “Copacabana.” I was literally coping in a cabana! I was forgetting about you for a while in what felt like the hottest spot north of Havana! It put a smile on my face, and I chuckled.

Then my blog, LymeWhisperer.com, came up in conversation. My colleagues said I reminded them of Carry Bradshaw, who, on the show Sex and the City, wrote weekly columns and provided intriguing narrative for the show. I liked that analogy. In fact, I guess I am similar to Carrie Bradshaw. In some ways. Sort of. For instance, she’s a shoe lover, and I am a lover of the Dr. Shoemaker’s Lyme Protocol which includes Cholestyramine, a cholesterol drug but is used in the protocol to help eliminate toxins from the body).

From bacon-wrapped scallops to thoughts of Barry Manilow and Carrie Bradshaw, I’d say it was a great night. Feeling appreciative of my coworkers and employees for keeping Borrelia at bay last night, at least mentally!”

1 thought on “Lyme Whisperer”

Leave a Reply

