Lemons 'n Lyme

When life gives you lemons, use them to beat Lyme

Lyme Disease Challenge

Leave a comment

IMG_8482

Lyme Disease has been called “the great imitator” and can be mistaken for numerous diseases such as ALS, MS, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, Fibromyalgia, Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s Disease, autism and other difficult-to-diagnose multi-system illnesses.

March kicked off the Lyme Disease Challenge to help raise awareness about Lyme disease and raise money for research (think ALS ice bucket challenge-esq).

How the challenge works:

1. Post a photo or video of you taking a bite of a lime

2. Share a fact about Lyme disease, like the one I shared above

3. Donate at least $10 to ILADS

You can learn more about the challenge and how to participate HERE

So far, I’d say it’s been a success. I have had an amazing amount of support with this challenge.

Not only did some of my amazing friends participate without me even asking…

IMG_8690IMG_8689

But BOTH of my jobs have!

All my coworkers at Verde Juice in Santa Fe recorded a video and my boss donated $100 to ILADS

IMG_8685IMG_8687 You can watch our full video on either the @verdejuice Instagram page OR on Facebook

And at Anytime Fitness Santa Fe, they made the Lyme disease challenge the theme of the month. We are trying to see how many people we can get to take the challenge.

IMG_8684 You can visit their Facebook page to follow along as members take the challenge.

I truly hope this challenge can help raise awareness and get doctors, the CDC, and everyone important out there TO LISTEN,  to hear the pain that all of us lymies are screaming, and to make a difference.

Just to remind you all what we go through as chronic illness sufferers….

IMG_8485

BREAKFAST! Part 1

Please help raise awareness and TAKE A BITE OUT OF LYME!

Author: Lemons 'n Lyme

So, my name is Victoria. I was recently diagnosed with chronic/long-term Lyme Disease. It has been one of the biggest reliefs of my life. I finally have an answer for all the pain I've been in for years. I'm 20. I love to bake and cook. I created this blog to 1) chronicle my recovery 2) share my recipes. My recipes are geared to those with Lyme in terms of nutrition and anti-inflammatory, etc. My research has shown that eating a paleo/gluten-free/low-carb diet is best for those with Lyme, and although I try to stick with this I fail horribly at times. Follow along and feel free to contact me! :)

Leave a Reply

