Recipes

Blueberry Kale Protein Smoothie (AIP/Paleo)

Summer is on its way and things are heating up so you know what that means… refreshing, delicious smoothies! They are so easy to whip up and take on the go for breakfast or make a filling afternoon snack if you’ve been running around outside all day. I don’t like when smoothies are super sweet and filled with TONS of fruit, it’s like sugar overload. I also like to add some greens in there, too, to boost the nutrient content and help get my veggies in for the day. This smoothie ticks all the boxes: delicious, nutrient filled, protein boost, and delicious (did I already mention that? ;)).

I was asked by Daily Burn to share my favorite smoothie recipe as part of their #ShowUsYourSmoothie campaign. They offer an awesome protein called Fuel-6 which is gluten-free and vegan (yay, no whey! Ugh, so hard to find good, vegan protein powders). I’ll be honest, I have not tried Fuel-6 (and I am not being paid to endorse their product) but I’m excited to get my hands on some and give it a whirl in this smoothie!

IMG_9023

Blueberry Kale Protein Smoothie

serves 1

Ingredients:

1 leaf of kale, stripped (about 1 cup)

1/2 frozen banana

3/4 cup frozen blueberries (or mixed berries)

1 tablespoon Great Lakes Gelatin + 1/2 scoop protein powder of choice OR 1 scoop protein powder

1 tsp. Maca powder

2 tablespoons full fat coconut milk

1 tablespoon chia seeds

about 1/2-1 cup water/coconut water/milk of choice (enough to get the blender running  and things smooth to desired consistency(

Blend everything together in a high speed blender. You can drink as is or pour into a bowl and and top with granola or desired toppings. If you let it sit for a moment, the chia seeds will cause the smoothie to gel a bit which makes it thicker and slightly more like a pudding. I love it this way because I can top it with lots of tasty treats (my favorites include hemp seeds, sunflower seeds, shredded coconut, and/or homemade paleo granola) and eat it with a spoon!

IMG_9020

IMG_9025

Leave a Reply

