Lemons 'n Lyme

When life gives you lemons, use them to beat Lyme

Turmeric-Caper Cauliflower Steaks Plus Life Update

Leave a comment

First, I’d like to thank you all for your support! I’ve received a lot of positive feedback for being so honest and candid about what it is like to have Lyme and go through treatment. It means a lot to know that my openness is helping so many of you and I will continue to be transparent with my experiences.

IMG_9370

At the beginning of June (holy crap, it’s July 1 already!) I spent a week in San Diego visiting my best friend! It was such a blast. I haven’t gone on a real vacation in YEARS and I haven’t seen my best friend in 4 years all because of Lyme. The first weekend there I had a bad reaction to a new medication and spent 2 days sleeping. I finally realized it was this new med causing my symptoms, stopped it, and felt much better! I was able to spend the rest of the week enjoying time with my best friend, hiking, attempting to learn to surf, and attending the San Diego County Fair! Yes, there were naps in there, too. And detox baths. We also did some cooking, exploring of new restaurants, and, of course, I had to check out the new local juice bar!

IMG_9387IMG_9389One night we made cauliflower crust pizza! I topped mine with pesto and sautéed veggies.

IMG_9395We explored an awesome raw food restaurant, too! It was AMAZING. We went twice and shared a couple dishes every time. This was my lunch right before getting on the plane to come home- raw nachos made with red bell pepper “chips”, walnut “meat”, and cashew cheeze. So delicious!

IMG_9332And last but not least we checked out the local juice bar. Had to get my green juice on even while on vacation ;).

I’ve got a full LDI update I will be posting in the next week, as well! Stay tuned.

Anyway, on to the recipe! This is a fun side dish and I bet it would taste amazing grilled (just place the cauliflower steaks on top of some tinfoil on the grill) but it is oven baked here. The capers add a fun twist to a basic cauliflower steak and a little extra flavor.

IMG_8962

Turmeric-Caper Cauliflower Steaks

Serves 2-3

Ingredients:

1 small head of cauliflower

2 tablespoons mustard

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 teaspoon turmeric

3 tablespoons capers (including the water in the jar they come in)

Preheat oven to 400 F.

First cut off the base/leaves of the cauliflower. Then cut into “steaks” by cutting horizontally across the head of the cauliflower to cut strips of cauliflower. Lay cauliflower on a baking sheet.

Mix all the remaining ingredients together into a small bowl. Take a baking brush (or just use a spoon) and brush 1/2 the mustard mixture over the top of the cauliflower. Use a spatula to flip the cauliflower over and brush the other half of the mustard mixture on the second side.

Bake for 30 minutes, flipping the cauliflower steaks over halfway through (15 minutes into roasting). Double this dish to batch cook for the week or serve to a group of friends and family!

IMG_8963

Author: Lemons 'n Lyme

So, my name is Victoria. I was recently diagnosed with chronic/long-term Lyme Disease. It has been one of the biggest reliefs of my life. I finally have an answer for all the pain I've been in for years. I'm 20. I love to bake and cook. I created this blog to 1) chronicle my recovery 2) share my recipes. My recipes are geared to those with Lyme in terms of nutrition and anti-inflammatory, etc. My research has shown that eating a paleo/gluten-free/low-carb diet is best for those with Lyme, and although I try to stick with this I fail horribly at times. Follow along and feel free to contact me! :)

Leave a Reply

