Recipes

Slightly Sweet Butternut Squash and Red-Lentil Curry (Vegan) and a Small LDI Update

First, I’d like to give a small treatment update, mostly about LDI. A bigger update will be coming soon. I constantly get emails and questions on my blog and Instagram about LDI, how it’s going for me, can I provide an update. Well, it hasn’t been going so hot so I haven’t provided many updates. My last dose was on October 6. The dose before that, at 11c, caused a herx, so we dropped to 12c. I felt nothing. My doctor and I have decided to take a break from LDI because it has made no impact after 6 months of various doses. I’ll be focusing on some other treatments (details to come in future post) and hoping to make some serious progress with those before revisiting LDI.

IMG_0488

As you all know, I’ve decided to return to a plant-based diet. I love it! And I’m having a blast with recipe development. This curry is SO GOOD! YOU MUST MAKE IT NOW! And if you are paleo, leave out the red-lentils. BAM paleo. I’m not a spicy person so I don’t crank up the heat on this curry, but you could. I add some apple to add a little sweetness to the spice and switch it up from the typical curry.

Butternut Squash and Red-Lentil Curry
Serves 2-4
Ingredients
1 small butternut squash peeled and chopped into bite size pieces (about 4 cups)
1/2 cup red lentils
1 small head of cauliflower chopped into bite size florets (about 4 cups)
1 small onion or half a medium onion, diced
1/2 an apple chopped into small bite size pieces (I used Honeycrisp but you can use any pink, crunchy variety such as pink lady, fuji, or even golden delicious)
1/2 can of coconut milk (shaken to mix the cream in)
Olive oil
1 tsp. coconut oil
Filtered water
1/2 tsp. turmeric
1/2 tsp. ginger
1/4 tsp. cumin
1/4 tsp. coriander *
1/4 tsp. salt

*If you like the spice, add 1/4-1/2 tsp. white pepper and/or graham masala

Preheat oven to 425 F.
Peel and chop your squash, lay on a parchment lined baking sheet and drizzle with a little olive oil. Bake in the oven for about 30 minutes until squash is cooked through (pierceable with a fork and taste tested, of course).

While squash is cooking, cook your lentils according to package directions (or if bought in bulk, cook lentils with double the amount of water. Bring to a boil then reduce to low. Cook until water is absorbed and lentils are soft and cooked, about 20-25 minutes).

Also while squash is cooking, chop up your cauliflower, onion, and apple.

Add your coconut oil to a large sauté pan (you can even use a deep soup pan) and heat over medium heat until oil is melted. Add your onion and sauté until beginning to soften. Add the cauliflower and apple. Cook until cauliflower begins to soften, about 10 minutes.

Add 1/4 cup of water and cover. Let simmer while squash and lentils finish cooking. When squash is done, remove from oven and check that cauliflower is soft and cooked through. When cauliflower is ready, turn heat down to medium-low and add the squash to the pan.

Add all the spices and coconut milk and stir well. Let simmer for a minute to absorb milk and spices. Add the lentils. Stir everything well, again, taste, and add salt/pepper/spices as desired.

Serve over rice and spinach or as a side dish. My favorite is to add this curry over a big bowl of spinach and allow the spinach to wilt a bit.

IMG_0494

IMG_0496

3 thoughts on “Slightly Sweet Butternut Squash and Red-Lentil Curry (Vegan) and a Small LDI Update”

  1. This sounds so lovely! I love the balance of the flavors and look forward to trying it soon! Pinning to share. Thank you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so sorry to hear about your response to LDI. My mom started at 16C with no improvements. Then at 15C we saw a small change. The second 15C dose is in december. Some of the improvements wore off and 16C as a booster is not helping. I am also looking at a crazy expensive protocol called BX Protocol. Have you heard of it? Take care.

    Like

    1. Keep me posted on how your mom does… the first dose won’t do the trick and it will take time. I have heard of BX and I’ve considered it myself. I have a friend who is on it and has seen small improvement. It’s actually not expensive when you think about it… it’s that much for the full 2 YEARS of treatment and the first year having access to a doctor every single day! It seems like a lot up front but when you calculate it out over the time period and how much most Lyme treatments cost, it’s pretty cost-effective. You just don’t know if it’ll work. Anyways, if you decide to move froward with BX, PLEASE keep me posted!

      Like

Leave a Reply

