Lemons 'n Lyme

When life gives you lemons, use them to beat Lyme

March Restart + Mediterranean Spaghetti Squash Bake (Vegan/Gluten Free)

Leave a comment

On Monday I announced on my Instagram that I’m hosting what I like to call March Restart. For me, March signifies the beginning of Spring so I wanted to do something this month through social media to help us all “restart” for the new, sunny season!

Every Monday I will be posting a yoga pose on my Instagram and a tutorial video on my YouTube to encourage us all to get moving, as well as help our bodies detoxify and feel renewed for Spring. I urge you all to practice that pose for the week with me, every day working to gain depth in that pose. If you are on Instagram, take pictures of you in the pose, tag me @lemonsnlyme, and hashtag #LNLMarchRestart. Feel free to post this to my Facebook page instead (or in a comment or email me, I just want to see you all getting moving with me!). I’ll feature accounts at the end of the month! Every Wednesday I’ll post my usual recipe on my blog. And every Friday I will be posting a helpful life post on the blog.

So stay tuned and make sure you are following me on all of my social media outlets so you don’t miss a post, yoga pose, or helpful hint to put a little Spring in your step ;).

Now, I can’t leave you all without a recipe this week!

IMG_1969

This dish is simple but satisfying. The combo of ingredients blends perfectly for a full-flavored dish. I’m not a tomato fan but sun-dried tomatoes are D-LICIOUS, so if you are like me and hate tomatoes, give this dish a shot.

IMG_1962

Mediterranean Spaghetti Squash Bake

Serves 4

Ingredients:

1 large spaghetti squash

1 cup sundried tomatoes, soaked in warm water for 30 minutes (Do not buy the kind in oil, buy legitimately dried ones)

1 can chickpeas

6 big handfuls of baby romaine

1 tbs. oregano

1 tsp. basil

1 tsp. salt

1/4 cup vegetable broth

More salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 425F.

Cut spaghetti squash in half and scoop out seeds. Place squash cut side down on a baking sheet and bake for 30-45 minutes until beginning to brown (the cut side down should start browning and caramelizing).

Turn temperature down to 375 F.

Cool slightly and scoop squash out into a large bowl.

Drain your sundried tomatoes and cut into strips (bite-size pieces).

Add tomatoes and all remaining ingredients, except for vegetable broth, into the bowl of spaghetti squash. Mix well and transfer to a baking dish (9×5 or something around that size).

Bake for about 30 minutes, until top begins to brown. Remove from oven and pour broth evenly over the squash.

This dish can be served on it’s own as it is a full meal all in one! (My favorite: simple, easy, one dish meals!)

IMG_1974

IMG_1958

Author: Lemons 'n Lyme

So, my name is Victoria. I was recently diagnosed with chronic/long-term Lyme Disease. It has been one of the biggest reliefs of my life. I finally have an answer for all the pain I've been in for years. I'm 20. I love to bake and cook. I created this blog to 1) chronicle my recovery 2) share my recipes. My recipes are geared to those with Lyme in terms of nutrition and anti-inflammatory, etc. My research has shown that eating a paleo/gluten-free/low-carb diet is best for those with Lyme, and although I try to stick with this I fail horribly at times. Follow along and feel free to contact me! :)

Leave a Reply

