Recipes

2-Minute, Single-Serving Healthy Mug Brownie (Vegan/Paleo)

You know those nights where you HAVE to have something chocolatey? Where the brownie craving is too real? But you know if you make a whole batch, you’ll eat the whole thing before dawn (I know that’s not just me). And you also don’t want to sabotage your healthy eating by downing a sugar-laden piece of chocolate cake? Or, you just have no patience to wait for a whole batch of brownies to bake or to drive to the store for a chocolate cake? I got you. Don’t worry, Victoria to the rescue.

IMG_3542

I’ve mastered the 2-minute microwave mug brownie. Let me rephrase that, I’ve mastered the HEALTHY  2-minute microwave mug brownie. I know I know, a MICROWAVE! I try to avoid them at all costs, but sometimes it’s just worth it. So if you are looking for an evening treat without sabotaging your health or your healthy eating, then whip this up! It features one of my favorite superfood blends from a company I just recently discovered, Philosophie. I’ve sampled all 3 of their superfood blends, but their Cacao Magic is just PERFECT in this recipe with the REAL cocoa nibs that are in it. Of course, if you don’t have any Cacao Magic, you can use regular cacao powder.

This brownie is perfectly dense and fudgey but light and absolutely delicious for dessert. It’s also low in sugar with virtually no added sweetener (1/2 tsp for the whole brownie!). Trust me, you’ll be wanting to make this ASAP.

IMG_3548

2-Minute HEALTHY Mug Brownie

Serves 1

Ingredients: 

2 tbs. Philosophie Cacao Magic (or regular cacao powder)

1 tbs. almond flour

1 tbs. coconut flour

1/8 tsp. baking soda

Pinch of salt

1/2 small very ripe banana, mashed

1 tsp. coconut oil, melted

1/2 tsp. raw honey (or maple syrup), melted

3 tbs. almond milk (or plant-based milk of choice)

Mix all dry ingredients in a bowl.

Add all wet ingredients and stir well, until combined (make sure you’ve mashed banana very well).

You can leave the batter in the bowl you mixed it in or put it in a mug.

Microwave for 1.5-2.5 minutes, depending on your microwave and the altitude you are at.

I am at 7,000+ feet so sometimes cooking times vary. You also may need to add another 1/8 tsp. of baking soda if you are at a lower altitude (if your brownie falls flat then try adding more baking soda).

If you place your batter in a mug, run a knife around the outside to loosen the brownie and then you can flip the mug upside down to release the brownie onto a plate.

I can’t do life without toppings, and love to add more chopped banana, fresh or frozen berries, and drizzle of almond butter to complete my dessert.

IMG_3524

3 thoughts on “2-Minute, Single-Serving Healthy Mug Brownie (Vegan/Paleo)”

Leave a Reply

