Recipes

Pumpkin Turkey “Curry”(AIP, Low-fodmap, Nightshade Free)

Pumpkin season is well upon us! So, that can only mean one thing: pumpkin recipes galore! Am I right?! Did you know that I don’t think I’ve ever cooked or cooked with a real pumpkin (just the canned stuff)? I thought it was about time I give it a go. I love my beloved butternut squash but even that gets old on occasion. It’s always good to switch things up! So I thought I would post this recipe just in time for Halloween.

The curry is in quotes because the recipes I post comply to my diet restrictions at that time. I currently follow a modified paleo, low-fodmap, nightshade free, gut and ulcer healing diet. Which really means, no spices! If you can happily stomach some good ‘ol spice, feel free to add curry spices to this recipe (or a 1 tsp-1 tbs. of a yellow curry spice mix). And let me know in the comments if you’d be interested in having me do a whole post about my current diet for healing.

I like to serve this along side a nice, big, fresh green salad because I’m always about getting my greens in! But this dish is delicious on its own to warm up with on a cool fall evening.

img_7073

Pumpkin Turkey “Curry”

Serves 4

Ingredients

1 small-medium pie pumpkin, peeled and cubed (about 4-6 cups once chopped)

1-2 tbs. coconut oil

1 tbs. fresh grated ginger root

1 small-medium cauliflower, chopped (about 4-6 cups)

1 cup bone broth or water

1 lbs. ground turkey

1 cup full fat coconut milk

1/2 tsp. ground turmeric

1 tsp. sea salt

1/2 tsp. ground ginger

Melt 1 tbs. of the coconut oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add the grated ginger root and sauté util fragrant, about 2 minutes. If ginger sticks to the bottom of the pan, add 1-2 tbs. of water to deglaze the pan. Add in the pumpkin and stir to coat with the coconut oil and ginger mixture. Sauté pumpkin for about 7 minutes, until it JUST begins to soften. Add another tablespoon of coconut oil if pumpkin begins to stick/brown at any point.

Add in the cauliflower and 1 cup of broth/water. Mix and let simmer for 30 minutes, until cauliflower and pumpkin are cooked (easily pierced with a fork).

While the pumpkin and cauliflower are cooking, cook the ground turkey in a separate pan.

Once pumpkin-cauliflower mix is done, scoop out 1 cup of that mixture (including a little bit of liquid from the bottom of the pan) into a blender. Add the coconut milk, turmeric, sea salt, and ground ginger. Blend until smooth and creamy.

Combine the turkey into the pot with the pumpkin and cauliflower, add the sauce you just blended and mix well to combine.

This is a thick curry. If you’d like it to be thinner and more sauce-y, feel free to add extra liquid (milk, broth, water) when blending the sauce.

img_7070img_7040img_7079

 

Leave a Reply

