Lemons 'n Lyme

When life gives you lemons, use them to beat Lyme

Pumpkin Seed-Sage Butternut Squash (Paleo/Vegan)

Leave a comment

Who is excited for Thanksgiving? I don’t celebrate it for what it is (let’s be real, it’s not a holiday we really should be honoring) and especially not this year (election stress, anyone?), BUT FOOD!

I love Thanksgiving because it’s the one day of the year were it is socially acceptable to binge eat until you LITERALLY are going to explode. And who doesn’t love that? Plus, in my household, Thanksgiving is our favorite because we love cooking! My mom and I put together a unique and delicious meal every year. We always make everything from scratch (I mean everything). As my dietary needs have changed over the years, we cook to accommodate and that makes it all the more fun. I always love a challenge in the kitchen.

Anyway, butternut squash is not only a classic winter staple but a must as some part of the Thanksgiving meal. So here is SIMPLEย butternut squash recipe that no one will be able to resist when you are sitting around the table on Thanksgiving. You can easily sub out pumpkin in this dish, but I promise butternut squash gives you the perfect sweetness needed in this recipe.

img_6664

Pumpkin Seed-Sage Butternut Squash

Serves 4

Ingredients:

1 large butternut squash, peeled and chopped into cubes

2 tbs. extra virgin olive oil, divided

8 fresh sage leaves, finely chopped

1/4 cup pumpkin seeds

Preheat oven to 400F.

Mix butternut squash and sage leaves with 1 tbs. of EVOO and spread onto a parchment lined baking sheet. Bake for 30 min.

Remove from oven and mix in the last tablespoon of EVOO along with the pumpkin seeds. Bake for another 10-20 minutes until butternut squash is easily pierced with a fork and pumpkin seeds and sage are fragrant and golden.

img_6673

IMG_6696.jpg

img_6650

 

Author: Lemons 'n Lyme

So, my name is Victoria. I was recently diagnosed with chronic/long-term Lyme Disease. It has been one of the biggest reliefs of my life. I finally have an answer for all the pain I've been in for years. I'm 20. I love to bake and cook. I created this blog to 1) chronicle my recovery 2) share my recipes. My recipes are geared to those with Lyme in terms of nutrition and anti-inflammatory, etc. My research has shown that eating a paleo/gluten-free/low-carb diet is best for those with Lyme, and although I try to stick with this I fail horribly at times. Follow along and feel free to contact me! :)

Leave a Reply

