Lemons 'n Lyme

When life gives you lemons, use them to beat Lyme

Low FODMAP Paleo Shepard’s Pie

4 Comments

How is everyone doing?! It’s been a hot minute, eh? I’m back with a new, easy, nutrient packed dish for ya.

IMG_9594

Low FODMAP Paleo Shepard’s Pie

Serves 4

Ingredients:

Topping-

1 large celeriac/celery root

1 large parsnip

1 tbs. coconut oil

2 tbs. full fat coconut milk

Salt to taste

Filling-

1 tbs. extra virgin olive oil

1 lbs. ground beef (or ground meat of choice)

1 bunch of green onion, chopped (green parts only for Low FODMAP)

1 bunch rainbow chard, chopped

1 cup frozen peas

1 tbs. rosemary

1 tbs. thyme

1/2 tsp salt (or to taste)

Preheat oven to 400 F.

Peel and chop the celeriac and parsnip into chunks. Steam (or boil) until soft, about 20 minutes.

While the topping veggies are steaming, heat your EVOO in a large skillet. Add the ground beef and cook until slightly brown but still pink on the inside. Add the green onion, peas, and rainbow chard. Cook until beef is browned and cooked through.

By this point your steamed veggies should be done. Put them in a food processor with the remaining topping ingredients and blend until smooth.

Pour the filling (ground beef and veggies) into a large glass dish (about 9×9). Pour the “topping” on top and spread evenly over the filling.

Bake for about 40 minutes, until top is just beginning to golden and has set.

Serve with a side salad and you are ready to go :). Makes great leftovers! Store in the fridge, covered.

IMG_9589IMG_9600IMG_9597

Author: Lemons 'n Lyme

So, my name is Victoria. I was recently diagnosed with chronic/long-term Lyme Disease. It has been one of the biggest reliefs of my life. I finally have an answer for all the pain I've been in for years. I'm 20. I love to bake and cook. I created this blog to 1) chronicle my recovery 2) share my recipes. My recipes are geared to those with Lyme in terms of nutrition and anti-inflammatory, etc. My research has shown that eating a paleo/gluten-free/low-carb diet is best for those with Lyme, and although I try to stick with this I fail horribly at times. Follow along and feel free to contact me! :)

4 thoughts on “Low FODMAP Paleo Shepard’s Pie

  1. I want to eat this right now. Looks yummy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi there!
    Have been MIA on WordPress for several months and so nice to “see” you! Hope all is well in your world.

    Like

Leave a Reply

