Lemons 'n Lyme

When life gives you lemons, use them to beat Lyme

Picc Line vs. Port-a-Cath

3 Comments

I get loads of questions asking me about picc lines and port-a-caths so I decided to just make a video talking all about them! I discuss what they’re for, the differences, how to prepare and recovery from the placement procedure of each, long term care tips, and just some overall tips & tricks.

I hope this video is helpful for some of you!

Author: Lemons 'n Lyme

So, my name is Victoria. I was recently diagnosed with chronic/long-term Lyme Disease. It has been one of the biggest reliefs of my life. I finally have an answer for all the pain I've been in for years. I'm 20. I love to bake and cook. I created this blog to 1) chronicle my recovery 2) share my recipes. My recipes are geared to those with Lyme in terms of nutrition and anti-inflammatory, etc. My research has shown that eating a paleo/gluten-free/low-carb diet is best for those with Lyme, and although I try to stick with this I fail horribly at times. Follow along and feel free to contact me! :)

3 thoughts on “Picc Line vs. Port-a-Cath

  1. This was very informative. Thank you for this!

    I do have a question. If you have to pay out of pocket, which is cheaper? And what would the cost be for a pick line vs a port?

    Also, if you’re doing nutritional IVs instead of antibiotic IVs, would it still work? The only reason I ask is because nutritional IVs are different from antibiotic IVS.

    Like

    • I’m glad it was helpful. The picc is cheaper out of pocket but I’m not sure the costs (I think a picc is around $1000 but a port will be more expensive due to the procedure being more complex).

      Yes, you can use a picc or port for any type of IV’s. I don’t do antibiotic treatment, I use my port for all alternative therapies and nutritional IV’s.

      Like

Leave a Reply

